New Music Friday 3.8.19: Gesaffelstein, Juice WRLD, Hardwell & Mike Williams, Peekaboo & more


March 8, 2019

React Presents - News Flash

Today we have several long-awaited releases to share with you. As we approach spring, the music just keeps getting bigger and better. Check out this Friday’s releases below.

Hyperion – Gesaffelstein

French producer Gesaffelstein has departed from his dark, industrial techno sound and taken on a retro vibe with his newest album Hyperion. The first two singles, “Lost in the Fire (feat. The Weeknd)” and “Blast Off (feat. Pharrell Williams),” are joined by 8 other tracks featuring Haim, The Hacker, and Bronwyn Griffin. Take a listen to the Daft Punk-esque release below.

Death Race for Love – Juice WRLD

The Chicago native’s long-awaited sophomore album is finally here. 22 tracks long, only three features (Brent Faiyaz, Young Thug, and Clever) made it onto the album. The forerunning singles “Hear Me Calling” and “Robbery” retain the more signature emotional lyrics. that have given Juice WRLD notoriety and an opening spot for Nicki Minaj’s world tour, overtop of piano chords and trap beats. Listen below to what people will be quoting their Instagram captions with for the next month.

I’m Not Sorry – Hardwell & Mike Williams

After teasing the single at several live performances, hyping it up, Dutch electronic producers Hardwell and Mike Williams release their unapologetic track “I’m Not Sorry.” The two together brought a fun, upbeat and danceable track to the table here that we can stream endlessly without apology. Listen to it below.

Wrecking Ball (EP) – Peekaboo

As the title track of the upcoming Wrecking Ball EP, Wrecking Ball heads face-first into freeform bass and dubstep goodness. Oscillating, electrifying beats make up for a short and sweet track clocking in at just under three minutes. Listen to the rest of the EP below.

This Aint Techno – David Guetta & Tom Staar

Released through Spinnin’ Records, David Guetta and Tom Starr come together to bring us “This Aint Techno,” a massive track that bobs, grooves, and move forward. Having been debuted by Tiesto sometime in 2017, and recently resurfaced via Starr himself, some things have been revised. But, nonetheless, this track is good. Listen below.

Favorite Sound – Audien & Echosmith

Featuring vocals from Sydney Sierota, lead singer in Echosmith, Audien creates a sparkly and pretty track to remind people that “It’s okay to ask for help, we all need help” and to never “apologize for just existing.” We all have those favorite songs that seem to bring us up when we’re down in the dumps, and they’re hoping this can be that song for listeners everywhere.

This Is How You Smile – Helado Negro

Roberto Carlos Lange returns with his sixth album, “This Is How You Smile.” The album is an exploration of airy, aura’s that come in the form of soft drum beats, pretty and effortless guitar strumming layered over atmospheric sounds, and tender vocals code-switching between Spanish and English.

Beware of the Dogs – Stella Donnelly

Stella Donnelly may not be the loudest in the room, but her words pack a punch. Tracks from her EP Thrush Metal released in 2018 take on racists, rape culture, and the #metoo movement in a thoughtful and empowering way. 13 tracks long with zero features, Beware of the Dogs is just as visceral as it is refreshingly progressive.


Sasami Ashworth is a jack of all trades. Having previously been the guitarist for Cherry Glazerr and assisting on a variety of recording for Wild Nothing and Curtis Harding, Ashworth is pursuing a solo career with her polished and self-titled debut album. A post-punk revival complete with solid guitar riffs, feedback, and delayed vocals makes for something comparable to the masterpieces of Broadcast. French singer Soko, Dustin Payseur of Beach Fossils, and Venezuelan-American artist Devendra Banhart make up the three features on the new album. Take a listen below.


There are currently no comments on this post. Add one below.

add a comment