New Music Friday 2.1.19: G Herbo, Big Wild, Luttrell, Leon Vynehall, Pedro Vian


February 1, 2019

React Presents - News Flash

After having some serious cabin fever this week, you can say that we’re pretty excited to see what new music is being released today. Among the multiple reissues, rock albums, and mixes this is what really had us looking forward to Friday (well, besides Lost Kings and Eprom performing tonight). From classic tracks to new shapings of techno, here are our picks for this week’s releases.

Walking On A Dream (10th Anniversary Reissue) – Empire of the Sun
In 2008, the essential synth pop dance anthem was birthed by the Australian duo dubbed as Empire of The Sun. Today, we celebrate the popular title tracks “Walking On A Dream” with a special reissue of the full album. As popularized by Pandora Radio and television commercials, ”Walking On a Dream” overshadowed many of the other spectacularly fun tracks on the album. “Half Mast,” “We Are The People” and “Tiger By My Side” may not surpass the title track in popularity but they supplement it’s disco flavored synth pop. According to Empire of The Sun’s official merchandising, the reissue of the album will come in a sleek orange, 180 gram vinyl record and is set to include an unreleased track called “Chrysalis”

Still Swervin’ – G Herbo
Chicago native, G Herbo, drops “Still Swervin’” in lieu of the album “Swervo.” Hot New Hip Hop predicts features from Gunna, Juice WRLD, Pretty Savage, and Lil 40 will grace the album. And it is a definite that Swervo will be continuing his relationship with producer Southside. Listen to the newly released album below.

Superdream – Big Wild
Producer Jackson Stell, known to many as Big Wild, releases his album “Superdream” today. In anticipation of the album’s debut, Stell released four singles earlier this year, the latest being “City of Sound”. He took to twitter to unpack the songs meaning, as it was the first song he finished on the album, setting the tone for the rest of the tracks to come. Stell said “the lyrics are about being comfortable with ur individuality. Not being afraid to let the world know who u are & in a literal sense, hear your voice.” With big disco influences, we’re excited to hear the newly shaped sound of Big Wild. Take a listen to the singles from the album below:

Pedro Vian – Pedro Vian
Pedro Vian releases his self titled album on Modern Obscure Music, an experimental dance label based between Barcelona & Amsterdam. The Netherlands based producer comes into this project with contemplative sounds. Downtempo, ambient electronic encapsulates an esoteric world with a dark wave of techno. If you have a liking for Laurel Halo’s older projects, this will be up your alley.

Into Clouds – Luttrell
Techno producer Eric Luttrell is back with another melodic release on Anjunadeep. The three singles that Luttrell has dropped thus far sonically conjure an ephemeral soundscape through deep house and broken beats. The lightness and continuous movement of his tracks will truly have you floating into the clouds.

DJ-Kicks – Leon Vynehall
Leon Vynehall has mixed the next edition of DJ-Kicks for !K7. This time around Vynehall “leans away from the dancefloor” by taking the mix on as more of an educational introduction to his “deep craft” (Resident Advisor.) In 26 tracks, we get anything and everything from 90’s dancehall and tech house, to cult underground Mancunian street soul and dreamier breakbeats. After a residency in Ibiza, playing major European festivals, and making several appearances on Resident Advisor’s site it’s safe to say that we can all take a listen and a lesson in music history through this release.


There are currently no comments on this post. Add one below.

add a comment